House Sitter   Lisa And Dan Tourtellot


House Sitter Lisa And Dan Tourtellot

To send a message to this house sitter, you must login or register.

Location:   Juneau, Alaska

Age:   59

Experience:   3 yr 3 mo

Rank:   star star star rate this sitter

About Lisa And Dan Tourtellot:

About Us

We are a retired couple who love to travel, meet new people, learn about areas, and get our pet time by caring for other people's pets. We believe in leaving your home spotless and doing what we can to make your trip a success - need a drop off/pick up or someone to retrieve your vehicle? We are there for you. Want regular emails or texts - no problem. Most importantly, we want your pet to be happy and in their same routine while you're gone.

Why We Housesit

I've lived in Juneau my whole life and Dan grew up in Seattle and on Whidbey Island north of there, coming to Juneau in the Coast Guard. Once he met me, he knew he couldn't leave! Because we didn't see many places growing up, we have always enjoyed travel but we really enjoy immersing ourselves in the local community rather than your typical tourist activities. We like making friends wherever we go and hosting them back home when possible. We love pets but no longer have our own so caring for yours gives us our pet time. 


While Juneau will always be our home, especially since my parents live just a short distance from us, we are frequently traveling, or looking to travel and most times can schedule our travel to coincide with yours. In fact, we recently housesat simultaneously for two couples whose homes are about 15 miles apart while they vacationed together. We have enjoyed the housesitting we've done thus far and look forward to caring for your home and/or pets as if they were our own. When we travel, we usually have family watch our home or have a housesitter of our own so we know the importance of having a good housesitter that will take care of all the little details so your return is as pleasant as your trip.

Our Experience

We've been married for almost 38 years and own a home in Juneau, Alaska - accessible only by boat or plane - there are no roads. Growing up and living here has made us very self sufficient in dealing with any property issues. We enjoy gardening and can take care of any yard needs as well. We don't smoke, are self-reliant, and clean.


We've had cats and dogs all our lives and Lisa had rabbits, mice, lizards, and even a skunk growing up. When our dog passed some years ago, we decided not to get another because of our retirement and travel plans so pet sitting is a perfect match for us. Large, small, indoors or out, we'll make sure to give them the care they need. 


We've done several housesits to date and have included a list belowl. We have received excellent references from each but perhaps the best reference is the repeat housesits and the referrals to friends that we've received. We are proud to say we have sat for a homeowner who runs a petsitting business and have been referred by her to others and are returning to sit for her in the winter. Both she and the friend who referred us have said what a difference we made in the sociability of her skittish cat whom she adopted as a feral kitten. While they told us the cat likely wouldn't come to strangers, though they would like her in the house, particularly at night.  Within a week, she was coming to us and not long after, she was napping on my feet!

Following is a listing of our housesits (updated December 2017):

  • February 2015 Parksville, British Columbia, Canada 2 weeks Springer Spaniel
  • October 2015 Greenbank, Washington, USA 2.5 weeks Cat
  • November 2015 Bainbridge, Washington, USA 4 days 2 Cats and 4 Chickens
  • January 2016 Langley, Washington, USA 2 weeks French Bulldog (Referral)
  • June 2016 Greenbank, Washington, USA 3 weeks Cat (Repeat)
  • January 2017 Parksville, British Columbia, Canada 2 weeks Springer Spaniel (Repeat)
  • February 2017 Greenbank, Washington, USA 2.5 weeks 2 Cats (Referral)
  • September 2017 Greenbank, Washington, USA 3 weeks Cat (Repeat) * 
  • September 2017 Langley, Washington, USA 3 weeks French Bulldog (Repeat) *
  • October 2017 Bothell, Washington, USA 5 days 2 Dachsunds
  • October 2017 Freeland, Washington, USA 2.5 weeks Jack Russell mix (Referral)
  • January 2018 Greenbank, Washington, USA 1 week Retriever (Referral)
  • January 2018 Parksville, British Columbia, Canada 3 weeks Springer Spaniel (Repeat)
  • February 2018 Greenbank, Washington, USA 2 weeks 2 cats (Repeat)
*we split up and sat at two houses simultaneously while the owners vacationed together

In addition to the references listed below, we can provide police checks and proof that we've been verified through another housesitting site. 


You can follow our adventures during and between housesits through her Instagram account, alaskan_red, on Twitter at JuneauAKGirl, or on her blog at alaskanred.wordpress.com/

Thanks for considering us for taking care of your home and pets. Please don't hesitate to get in touch. Until then, make every day a good day!

profile viewed 696 times

References 7

Brian And Debbie Chiesi

Homeowner in Bothell, Washington

Lisa and Dan looked after our 2 active Doxies for a week in October 2017. Wylee and Ella were happy, energetic and we could tell that they had lots of attention and their exercise walks. The house looked as good as when we left. We are planning to have them back (if their schedule permits) next year. Thank you very much
Brian and Debbie Chiesi


Date of Service Oct 6, 2017

Robyn And Tom Wozab

Homeowner in Greenbank, Washington

To Whom it may Concern: Lisa Marie and Dan Tourtellot
House Sitter/ Pet Sitters

We had the fortunate experience of having Lisa Marie and Dan take care of our home and two kitties for a month. They were extremely conscientious about the daily routine the kitties are used to and also all the various home procedures. They communicated with us and sent pictures.
We did not worry at all, they handled everything so well. We cannot Thank them enough for all they did, above and beyond. We returned home to a spotless clean home and very happy Kitty Cats.
Wozabs/ Whidbey Island, Washington
March 2017


Date of Service Feb 21, 2017

Stella Meades

Homeowner in Parksville, Canada

Lisa Marie and Dan looked after my dog Susie and my house for the second time in January 2017. While I enjoyed 2 weeks in Maui, my 5 year old Springer enjoyed their wonderful care, affection and kindness. Lisa sent me emails with pictures showing a very happy dog. I came home to find my house spotless with dinner and a very good cake waiting for me! I highly recommend Lisa and Dan for your future consideration as sitters. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.


Date of Service Jan 15, 2017

Carol And Paul Stokke

Homeowner in Langley, Washington

We knew from the start that our house and beloved pet, Bodie, were in the best of hands with Lisa and Dan. Bodie easily bonded with them and was sad to see them go. Not only did they take wonderful care of our pet but our house as well. We would not hesitate to invite them back for another house and pet visit. They are professionals and you would do well to get them if you can.
Paul, Carol and Bodie Stokke


Date of Service Jan 24, 2016

Sada Ross

Homeowner in Bainbridge, Washington

I definitely want to put out a great reference for Dan and Lisa Marie who were my housesitters recently. I have 2 cats and 4 chickens and numerous indoor plants and garden and yard to take care of and they were superb. They even picked all the orange rinds out of the chickens' compost before they gave it to them! 🐔The washing was done, beds and clean sheets all made up, floors cleaned, vacuuming done and leaves raked outside.
Yes, I highly recommend them for caring and giving housesitters. Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Happy Land and Pet Owner,
Sada Ross


Date of Service Nov 6, 2015

Eric And Ruth Hopkins

Homeowner in Greenbank, Washington

Lisa Marie and Dan took excellent care of Rachel our cat while we were away for 2 1/2 weeks Our house was in perfect condition upon our return and they even left us homemade coffee cake and soft music playing for a very welcoming homecoming. Lisa Marie and Dan are a warm, friendly, conscientious couple who take pet/house sitting very seriously and we highly recommend their services.
Organised ★★★★★
Reliable ★★★★★
Self Sufficient ★★★★★
Tidy ★★★★★
Pet Care ★★★★★


Date of Service Oct 1, 2015

Stella Meades

Homeowner in Parksville, Canada

Lisa and Dan looked after my 4 year old springer spaniel for 2 weeks in January. When I came home it was obvious that they and Susie had had a great time together! Susie was happy and Lisa and Dan had provided her with all the love and exercise that springers need. My home was spotless and welcoming. I would not hesitate to ask them to come back and repeat the home sit.
Organised ★★★★★
Reliable ★★★★★
Self Sufficient ★★★★★
Tidy ★★★★★
Pet Care ★★★★★


Date of Service Jan 30, 2015