House Sitter   Colleen Phillips


House Sitter Colleen Phillips

To send a message to this house sitter, you must login or register.

Location:   Happy Valley, Oregon

Age:   52

Experience:   2 mo

Rank:   star star star star star rate this sitter

About Colleen Phillips:

Hi there!

I am applying as an adventurous husband and wife team! We are in our young 50’s and would like to travel around before deciding where to retire. We cannot wait to see new places from a local perspective. 

We live in a beautiful home in the suburbs of Portland, OR with two of our adult children. We take pride in caring for our home and it shows – we would care for someone else’s home the same way. We are not currently pet owners but do love animals. Years ago, we used to have a beautiful little Arab horse and boarded her on a farmgrew up on a 5-acre hobby farm in rural British Columbia, Canada. We raised every kind of farm animal you can imagine, including horses, pigs, and turkeys. It was there that I learned responsibility at a young age and developed a strong work ethic. I have worked in the medical field for most of my career. Recently I worked as a radiation scheduler at an oncology office in Portland but left that job to spend more time with our granddaughter. I tend to think I have a green thumb. My husband thinks I have way too many plants in our house! I absolutely love working in the yard and gardening. Digging in dirt is so therapeutic to me. I also enjoy everything HOSPITALITY. From entertaining, hosting, cooking, or baking up my award-winning banana bread! 

My husband grew up in Alaska where his family ran a cross country ski lodge in the middle of nowhere. As a youngster he had to prep trails, clean rooms, pump gas, etc. We met in Hawaii at Youth with a Mission. One of the things that attracted me to him was his work ethic –our job duty was to clean dormitories, and he was so detailed! In the early years of our marriage, he worked in construction, and I find him very handy and resourceful. He will figure something out before having to call a repairman! He worked over 21 years with Toys R Us and now works remotely with Amazon in their retail department – giving us flexibility! 

We became grandparents for the first-time last year and are loving it! Our daughter, son-in-law, little Aila, and their two dogs, live just 30 minutes away. Our weekends are spent with our entire family - going to the local farmers market which entails eating our favorite tamales and stocking up on fresh veggies and goat’s milk. After church on Sundays, we spend the day adventuring – either hiking, kayaking, tubing on the river,checking out a brewery, or finding a new restaurant. 

We are looking for short or long-term house-sitting opportunities across the US. I am fragrance sensitive so the home should not have had Glade plug-ins (the chemical still lingers even if unplugged) or been smoked in. I am ok with natural essential oils. We are allergic to cats so we would prefer no cats inside the home but could care for outdoor cats. We are very comfortable caring for farm animals and/or pets, and plants of all types – indoor or outdoor. Home will need to have reliable internet connectivity for my husband’s job. Looking forward to hearing back from you! Thank you for your consideration. 

 

profile viewed 74 times

Feedback Received 1

starstarstarstarstar

We were very pleased upon returning home after our vacation to find the house and premises in excellent shape. There were a lot of detailed chores to do, including medicating a horse and dog and special diets for our dogs and horses. They were always available when we wanted to talk. I would highly recommend Colleen and Troy as a great housesitting team.

Reviewed Aug 30, 2021 by homeowner in Prescott, Arizona

References 3

Elizabeth Petersen

Employer in Tigard, Oregon

Elizabeth was my boss at Compass Oncology from 9/18-7/20. She left Compass to care for her newborn during Covid-19. We had a great working relationship and I highly respect her as my past employer.


Date of Service Sep 1, 2018

Deana Mcdaniels

Acquaintance in Aurora, Oregon

Friends for about 20 years. Knew each other through homeschooling and church. Our kids are grown now and we both are enjoying being grandmas! Enjoying living in the same state again!


Date of Service Jan 1, 2017

Susan Stelmack

Acquaintance in Happy Valley, Oregon

Neighborhood friends since 12/2016. Have enjoyed friendship and cocktails at each other’s homes over the years.


Date of Service Jan 1, 2017