House Sitter   Alexandra Barker


To send a message to this house sitter, you must login or register.


House Sitter Alexandra Barker

Location:   Sydney, Australia

Age:   25

Experience:   2 yr 5 mo

Rank:   star star star rate this sitter

About Alexandra Barker:

Hi, my name is Alex. Iím a year old full time design student from Sydney, Australia. Iím currently looking to travel during my college breaks throughout the year and am hopefully looking to be somewhere in the US or UK during the months of November through to January, however am flexible and could be open to other possibilities.  

Being that my college course is quite intensive, I'm looking for an experience where I can settle into one place and feel at home during the time that I do manage to have off throughout the year. I'm a non smoker, non drinker and consider myself to be a responsible and dependable person.


Being a full time student means Iím unable to work as many hours during the week as I would like to, therefore Iím constantly looking for ways to be creative on a student budget! 

In the past, Iíve found housesitting to be a great tool in allowing me to travel the world on a small budget, that also means I am able to immerse myself in different locations and cultures and learn a lot along the way.

I have previously house sat for various periods of time, with the longest job being five weeks in New York. Various house sitting jobs have meant that I have been in charge of caring for different animals, including dogs, cats, birds and guinea pigs. Tasks for these jobs have included light gardening work, feeding and walking the pets, light cleaning, collecting mail and more. 

I've done a fair bit of international travel (primarily through the UK, Europe and US) on my own and am comfortable being in new places and being independent. I am an enthusiastic animal lover and have looked after numerous pets over the years (including my own dog) I have no issues with feeding, walking, administering medication (my last dog was diabetic for the last few years) cleaning, watering plants, collecting mail or anything else you would need me to do.

Of course I would make sure to look after your house and any pets that come with it to the best of my ability, keeping everything organised and in check so that you can return from your time away with everything in perfect order. 

I have additional references I can provide if needed.

If you think I could be right for your job, I would love to hear from you!

profile viewed 606 times

References 4

Dominic K

Homeowner in Sydney, Australia

Alex looked after my apartment and my beloved dog in May 2015 while I was overseas for 4 weeks.

Being an interior designer, it's important to me that anyone minding my house is respectful of the high end finishes and furnishings that I have in my apartment.
Upon my return I found my apartment in immaculate condition, with everything where I left it.

The happiness of my dog is something that has worried me whilst on holidays in the past, but Leroy loved Alex and she would send me photos of him whenever I asked to put my mind at ease!

It gave me peace of mind to have somebody as responsible and tidy as Alex looking after my home and my dog. I didn't hear from her the entire time unless it was in response to me checking in on how things were going.


Date of Service Oct 16, 2015

Amy R

Homeowner in Sydney, Australia

Alex is an excellent house sitter. I have used her multiple times over the years when I am away. She looked after my dog, cat and parrot with no trouble. I returned to a clean, well maintained house and 3 happy animals.


Date of Service Jun 15, 2015

Dianne P

Homeowner in Sydney, Australia

Alex has house- and pet-sat for us on two separate occasions, for a couple of weeks each time. She is reliable, organised and caring, and we came home to a tidy house and a happy dog. She kept in contact with us while we were away to let us know if there were any issues, or just to inform us that everything was running smoothly, which gave us peace of mind.

She also went above and beyond in making sure that the mail was organised, and the fridge was stocked with the basics for when we returned home, which we really appreciated after our travels! We would recommend Alex to anyone going away who would like to be able to relax completely knowing that their home and pets are being well-cared for.


Date of Service Feb 10, 2015

Jordyn C

Acquaintance in Sydney, Australia

I have known Alex for many years and would highly recommend her for any house or animal sitting jobs. After attending school and travelling together for an extended period of time I have personally experienced her organisational skills, reliability and independence. Alex is clean and tidy, as well and being incredibly nuturing and caring, making her an ideal choice for house sitting and/or animal caring.


Date of Service Jan 1, 2015