House Sitting Opportunity.   Sovicille (si), Italy

House Sitting in Sovicille (si), Italy

  • Homeowner is no longer accepting messages regarding future assignments.

Location:   Sovicille (si), Italy

Assignment Description:

I am looking for a house sitter (perfect for a couple) for my house in Italy. It is a old farm house situated 17 km outside Siena in a very little hamlet (only 10 houses) in the countryside (the surroundings are very natural, the village is surrounded by forests with many hiking possibilities).But there are also a lot of historical places and cities nearby (Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra..) Flornce is 60 km away and so is the seaside. The main reason why  I am  looking for a housesitter are my animals: 1 dog , 1 cat and 2 horses.the dog pongo,small size, male, 12 years old, is very energetic and loves to be walked around. he is very friendly and is easy to handle.(probably during this assignment he will come with me)

Minu the cat is very old (21) and is sometimes a little confused so she needs some extra attention but she also loves to be cuddled.she has also a cat loo inside which needs to be cleaned. 
 The horses are free to roam in a big paddock, ca 10 min by foot (or 5 with the car) from our house.They need to be fed and controlled twice a day to see if they have enough water and hay and that they are all ok (ev. you have to put on fly masks in the summer or racks in the winter if it is very cold.Sometimes you need to clean their open stable) I prefer somebody who has some experience with horses (you should be confident to handle them, e.g putting a fly masque on or taking them to show them to the vet if something happens). I am quite apprehensive to leave my animals to people I don't know so I am looking for somebody who really loves animals, enjoys having them around and has some experience handling them. The dog and the cat live together with me inside my house and during the night they sleep inside on their sofa (the cat or Pongo like also my bed!) the house itself is quite big: 3 sleeping rooms a big kitchen a studio and 2 bathrooms.

It is a very old farmhouse and I renovated it completely 17 years ago in a very simple tuscan stile (there is also a open fire place).It is no luxury villa but there are all the modern commodities (wifi,  dishwasher, washing machine, central heating with pellet ecc) Most of our neighbours are good friends of me and can help you out if you have any problem (it is quite international, italians, swiss, germans, norwegian..) as you can imagine in this place there are no shops cinema bar ecc. but a lot of nature so it could be intersting for somebody who loves walking reading and staying with my animals.As there is nearly no public transport you need a car.

If somebody is interested I would like you to come 3 days before I leave to explain everything and to introduce you to my animals and friends.We have enough place to give you hospitality in this time.Feel free to contact me for further questions