House Sitting Opportunity.   Sovicille (si), Italy

To apply for this house sitting assignment, you must login or register.

House Sitting in Sovicille (si), Italy

  • Click the link below to let this homeowner know you are interested in future assignments!

Location:   Sovicille (si), Italy

Assignment Description:

We are looking for a house sitter (perfect for a couple) for our house in Italy. It is a old farm house situated 17 km outside Siena in a very little hamlet (only 10 houses) in the countryside (the surroundings are very natural, the village is surrounded by forests with many hiking possibilities).But there are also a lot of historical places and cities nearby (Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra..) Flornce is 60 km away and so is the seaside. The main reason why we are looking for a housesitter are our animals: 2 dogs , 1 cat and 4 horses.the dogs are small size,Pongo, male, 8 years old, is very energetic and loves to be walked around, the other, Luna,female, is a little 15 year old maltese, she needs to have her eyes cleaned twice a day and needs daily medication and you have to bring her up and down the stairs to go out. She is nearly deaf and blind (she has only one eye left) so you needto keep an eye on her when she is outside.

The cat is very indipendent and goes out quite a lot (no cat toilet inside) but she also loves to be cuddled.  The horses are free to roam in a big paddock, ca 10 min by foot (or 5 with the car) from our house.They need to be fed and controlled once a day to see if they have enough water and hay and that they are all ok (ev. you have to put on fly masks in the summer or racks in the winter if it is very cold.Sometimes you need to clean their open stable) We prefer somebody who has some experience with horses (you should be confident to handle them, e.g putting a fly masque on or taking them to show them to the vet if something happens). We are quite apprehensive to leave our animals to people we don't know so we are looking for somebody who really loves animals, enjoys having them around and has some experience handling them. The dogs and the cat live together with us inside our house and during the night they sleep inside on their sofa (the cat or Pongo, one of the dogs like also our bed!) the house itself is quite big: 3 sleeping rooms a big kitchen a studio and 2 bathrooms.

It is a very old farmhouse and we renovated it completely 17 years ago in a very simple tuscan stile (there is also a open fire place).It is no luxury villa but there are all the modern commodities (wifi, satellite TV, dishwasher, washing machine, central heating with pellet ecc) Most of our neighbours are good friends of us and can help you out if you have any problem (it is quite international, italians, swiss, germans, norwegian..) as you can imagine in this place there are no shops cinema bar ecc. but a lot of nature so it could be intersting for somebody who loves walking reading and staying with our animals.As there is nearly no public transport you need a car.

If somebody is interested we would like you to come 3 days before we leave to explain everything and to introduce you to our animals and friends.We have enough place to give you hospitality in this time.Feel free to contact us for further questions